Concert For Ronnie Montrose - A Celebration Of His Life In Music
Concert For Ronnie Montrose
A Celebration Of His Life In Music

Released : December 10, 2013
Running Time : 00:

01  Overture  
02  Open Fire  
03  Town Without Pity  
04  I Don't Want It  
05  Little Suzi  
06  One Thing On My Mind  
07  Free Ride  
08  Frankenstein  
09  Thunder And Lightning  
10  Razor King  
11  No Tears  
12  Ready For Action  
13  Fight To The Finish  
14  Voyager  
15  Lighthouse  
16  One And A Half  
17  Rock The Nation  
18  Space Station No. 5  
Bonus tracks  
01  Good Rockin' Tonight  
02  Rock Candy  
03  Oh No You Don't  
04  Connection  
05  Paper Money  
06  Wild Night  



Sammy Hagar, Neal Schon, Joe Satriani, Denny Carmassi, Bill Church, Davey Pattison, Glenn Letsch, Marc Bonilla, Tommy Suczek, Ricky Phillips, Steve Smith, Ed Roth, Eric Singer, Tommy Thayer, Jimmy Paxson, Eric Martin, Jeff Watson, CJ Hutchins, Tal Morris, Frank Hannon, Brian Wheat, Jeff Keith, Dave Rude, Troy Luccketta, Dave Meniketti, John Nyman, Brad Lang, Mike Vanderhule, Mario Cippolina, Chuck Terpo, Amber Morris, April Grisman, Michael Indelicato, Steve Brown, Dan McNay, Randy Scoles.

When Ronnie Montrose passed away on March 3, 2012, friends and musicians immediately wondered what they could do to pay homage to one of rock's all-time legendary and influential guitarists. The result was some of music's most renowned artists uniting for a concert only a month and a half later and performing Ronnie classics throughout the evening.

On April 27, 2012 at the Regecy Ballroom in San Francisco artists whom Ronnie Montrose collaborated with, mentored and produced came together to honor the Father of American Hard Rock. It was a night of music Ronnie composed and created classic signature guitar riffs for and it featured performances from a star-studded lineup of guests — including alumni from both of Ronnie’s best known projects, Montrose and Gamma. This is the live DVD that captured that event.

The surviving original members of the Montrose band — Sammy Hagar, bassist Bill ‘Electric’ Church and drummer Denny Carmassi took the stage with Hagar’s Chickenfoot bandmate Joe Satriani subbing in on guitar, and delivered a powerful, well-received set that featured Montrose staples like ‘Space Station No. 5,’ ‘Bad Motor Scooter’ and of course, ‘Rock Candy.’

Sharing memories of the band’s early days and running through the group’s classic tracks with his old bandmates stirred “a lot of memories up here,” as Hagar put it from the stage. The quartet of players shared a sweaty embrace after performing ‘Connection’ by the Rolling Stones (covered on Montrose’s second album) with smiles all around.

Journey guitarist Neal Schon said the sold-out Regency Center came “unglued” during the evening of music, which he opened, sharing the stage with Styx bassist and former Bad English bandmate Ricky Phillips, Montrose keyboardist Ed Roth and Schon’s former Journey bandmate Steve Smith on drums. This line-up performed two of Ronnie’s signature tracks from the 1978 ‘Open Fire’ release, including the title track.

The DVD also includes interviews, bonus features, a photo gallery, and an additional set of Ronnie's hits by an all-star band featuring Chuck Terpo, Mario Cipollina, Tal Morris, Dave Meniketti and the members of Y&T. This was recorded and filmed at Bob Weir's TRI Studios.

The iconic and legendary Ronnie Montrose has been called the Father Of American Hard Rock, an innovator and an incendiary guitar genius. In his short time with VAN MORRISON, Ronnie created the iconic guitar riff for the classic song "Wild Nights".
In the EDGAR WINTER GROUP, he left even a bigger mark with his catchy heavy-handed riffs on songs like "Free Ride" and "Frankenstein". But it would be his self-titled release, "Montrose", that would become the cornerstone of American hard rock.
This debut in 1973 crafted such classics as "Rock the Nation", "Bad Motor Scooter" and "Space Station #5". It laid the groundwork and became the template for bands like VAN HALEN and countless subsequent musicians. His musical journey lead him to the creation of GAMMA where he crafted songs like "Voyager", "Thunder And Lighting" and "Ready For Action".

V  I  D  E  O  G  R  A  P  H  Y


click DVD cover to buy ! 

BUY > Concert For Ronnie Montrose - A Celebration Of His Life In Music

Click here to buy
Concert For Ronnie Montrose

A Celebration Of His Life In Music


Ronnie Montrose (official)

Tommy Thayer (official)

Eric Singer (official)

Back to menu / top of page

New Visitors click here to enter Kiss Related Recordings

Copyright © 1997 - 2016 KISS-Related Recordings.
This page is part of the Kiss Related Recordings and Discographies website. Maintained by Jelle Jansen.
Nothing contained on KISS Related Recordings may be reproduced in any form or by any means, 
without the prior consent of the webmaster. Neither electronically, nor in print or otherwise.
contact the webmaster at