BLACK SABBATH  Deluxe Expanded Edition Re-issue 2010
The Eternal Idol

Released : November 1, 1987
Produced by : Jeff Glixman
Time : 43:

Deluxe Edition Released : November 1, 2010
Produced by : Jeff Glixman
Time CD 1 :
Time CD 2 : 41:38

01 Shining (5:59) Iommi
02 Ancient Warrior (5:34) Iommi
03 Hard Life To Love (4:59) Iommi
04 Glory Ride (4:49) Iommi
05 Born to Lose (3:43) Iommi
06 Nightmare (5:21) Iommi
07 Scarlet Pimpernel (2:07) Iommi
08 Lost Forever (4:05) Iommi
09 Eternal Idol (6:36) Iommi
10 Black Moon (original demo version) * (3:39) Iommi
11 Some Kind of Woman( studio outtake) * (3:15) Iommi

* Track 10 and 11 are released as B side on the official vinyl 12" Maxi single of
   "The Shining" (Warner Bros, Europe).
* Track 10 and 11 are also released as Bonus Tracks on CD1 of "The Eternal Idol -
   Deluxe Edition" 2CD 2010 reissue.


CD 2 of the "Deluxe Edition, 2010
" The Eternal Idol : Ray Gillen Session "
01 Glory Ride (5:21) Iommi
02 Born to Lose (3:41) Iommi
03 Lost Forever (4:17) Iommi
04 Eternal Idol (6:48) Iommi
05 The Shining (6:30) Iommi
06 Hard Life To Love (5:19) Iommi
07 Nightmare (4:49) Iommi
08 Ancient Warrior (4:53) Iommi

(various) original release 1987 by Polygram

USA     : Warner Bros - LP / compact disc - 25548-1/2
Europe : Polygram/Phonogram/Vertigo - LP / compact disc / MC - 832 708-1/2/4
Europe : Castle/ Essential Records - compact disc - ESM CD 336 (remastered;  April 1996)
UK       : Universal Music / Sanctuary - 2CD Deluxe Expanded Edition - 2752460 (2010)

Track 5 and 8 (of CD1) :
also released on Black Sabbath; "Blackest Sabbath 1971-1987" (Best Of);
UK : Polygram/ Vertigo - compact disc / LP / MC - 838818-2/1/4

musicians CD 1:
Tony Iommi (guitars)
Eric Singer (drums, except on track 7)
Tony Martin (vocals)
Bob Daisley (bass)
Dave Spitz (bass on  “Some Kind Of Woman”)
Geoff Nicholls (keyboards; bass on  “Black Moon”)
Bev Bevan (drums on track 7)

musicians CD 2:
Tony Iommi (guitars)
Eric Singer (drums)
Ray Gillen (vocals)
Bob Daisley (bass)
Geoff Nicholls (keyboards)

Producers: Jeff Glixman at Air Studios, Montserrat; Vic Coppersmith at Heaven Air Studios, London; Chris Tsangerides at Battery Studios, London.
Mixed by Chris Tsangerides at Battery Studios, London.
Recorded at Air Studios, Montserrat and Battery Studios, London, England.

By September 1986 the recording of the "The Eternal Idol" album had commenced and the majority of the backing tracks have been completed by mid-October that year.
Eric Singer would depart the band in January 1987, having already completed his drumtracks. By March 1987 vocalist Ray Gillen had quit the band.
They shortly thereafter hooked up with ex-Ozzy guitarist Jake E. Lee to form BADLANDS. 
The remaining Sabs (Iommi, Nicholls & Daisley) moved the recording sessions from Monserrat to London. Cash flow troubles forced the band to halt recording during the spring of ’87 and Bob Daisley left the band around this time. Recording resumed in August ’87 with Iommi bringing in vocalist Tony Martin to re-record Ray Gillen’s vocal tracks in just 8 days! Martin’s stiff performance was a result of having to mimic Gillen’s performance as closely as possible. The only remaining trace of Ray Gillen’s vocals left on the album was the laughter during the mid-section of “Nightmare”.

For the album Eric Singer’s drums were left almost completely intact, even though was no longer playing with Sabbath. Nevertheless, Bev Bevan is given credit for playing drums on the album, even though he only contributed his sticks to “Scarlet Pimpernel”, which was tacked on to the record during the final sessions in London!

The bass playing that you hear on the record is all Bob Daisley. Dave Spitz can be heard on the “Some Kind Of Woman” and Geoff Nicholls gets the bass credit for the “Black Moon” demo. Both of these cuts appear on some European maxi-single pressings of “The Shining”.
Thanks to Robert Dwyer
for final details.

September 15, 2010 : Black Sabbath CD box reissues
According to BLACK SABBATH News, the next two reissues in the Deluxe Edition series are the highly overlooked Seventh Star (1986) and Eternal Idol (1987) albums that featured Glenn Hughes (ex-DEEP PURPLE) and Tony Martin respectively on vocals.

After just a handful of dates on the 1986 Seventh Star Tour, Hughes was let go, and Ray Gillen was brought on board. He finished the tour, and work began on the next album, and it was mostly completed. Gillen left to found BADLANDS (with now KISS drummer Eric Singer also from Sabbath), and this left Black Sabbath with a mostly completed album, and no singer. Tony Martin was brought in and re-recorded all the vocals in two weeks. The album came out with Tony Martin, and the only remaining bit of the Ray Gillen original vocals was some laughter in the track 'Nightmare'.

The original Ray Gillen version of The Eternal Idol has been traded in bootleg circles for ages now.

Sanctuary/Universal UK will be releasing The Eternal Idol Box Set on November 1st.
The additional tracks include 'Some Kind Of Woman' and 'Black Moon' (demo) on Disc 1. Disc 2 will comprise the Ray Gillen Eternal Idol album! Complete tracklisting is as follows:
Disc 1:
1. The Shining
2. Ancient Warrior
3. Hard Life To Love
4. Glory Ride
5. Born To Lose
6. Nightmare
7. Scarlet Pimpernel
8. Lost Forever
9. Eternal Idol
10. Black Moon (demo)
11. Some Kind Of Woman
Disc: 2
1. Glory Ride
2. Born To Lose
3. Lost Forever
4. Eternal Idol
5. The Shining
6. Hard Life To Love
7. Nightmare
8. Ancient Warrior

Sanctuary/Universal UK will also release the Seventh Star Box Set on November 1st.
The first disc of Seventh Star will include the album as well as the remixed version of 'No Stranger to Love', which appears in the music video of the same.
Disc 2 is a live concert recorded on June 2, 1986 and has Ray Gillen on vocals.
The complete tracklisting is as follows:

Disc 1:
1. In For The Kill
2. No Stranger To Love
3. Turn To Stone
4. Sphinx (The Guardian)
5. Seventh Star
6. Danger Zone
7. Heart Like A Wheel
8. Angry Heart
9. In Memory
10. No Stranger To Love (alternate version)
Disc: 2
1. Mob Rules
2. Danger Zone
3. War Pigs
4. Seventh Star
5. Die Young
6. Black Sabbath
7. N.I.B
8. Neon Knights
9. Paranoid

D  I  S  C  O  G  R  A  P  H  Y


click album cover to buy ! 

BUY > BLACK SABBATH : The Eternal Idol

Click here to buy
BLACK SABBATH : The Eternal Idol

BUY > BLACK SABBATH : Seventh Star (2CD deluxe)

Click here to buy
BLACK SABBATH : The Eternal Idol

(2CD deluxe edition 2010)


Video promo clip

The Shining


Audio Samples (mp3 album)


Black Sabbath (official)

Tony Iommi (official)

Eric Singer (official)

Bob Daisley (official)

D  I  S  C  O  G  R  A  P  H  Y



Back to menu / top of page

New Visitors click here to enter Kiss Related Recordings

Copyright © 1997 - 2016 KISS-Related Recordings.
This page is part of the Kiss Related Recordings and Discographies website. Maintained by Jelle Jansen.
Nothing contained on KISS Related Recordings may be reproduced in any form or by any means, 
without the prior consent of the webmaster. Neither electronically, nor in print or otherwise.
contact the webmaster at