BLACK SABBATH  Deluxe Expanded Edition Re-issue 2010
BLACK SABBATH  (featuring Tony Iommi)
Seventh Star

Released : February 1986
Produced by : Jeff Glixman
Time : 35:

Deluxe Edition Released : November 1, 2010
Produced by : Jeff Glixman
Time CD 1 :
Time CD 2 : 44:06

01 In For The Kill (3:42) Iommi
02 No Stranger to Love (4:29) Iommi
03 Turn to Stone (3:29) Iommi
04 Sphinx (The Guardian) (1:11) Iommi
05 Seventh Star (5:20) Iommi
06 Danger Zone (4:26) Iommi
07 Heart Like a Wheel (6:37) Iommi
08 Angry Heart (3:06) Iommi
09 In Memory... (2:37) Iommi
10 No Stranger To Love (alternative version) * (3:39) Iommi

* Track 10 Bonus Track on CD1 of "Seventh Star - Deluxe Edition" 2CD 2010 reissue.


CD 2 of the "Deluxe Edition, 2010
" Live at Hammersnith Odeon, London, June 2, 1986 "
01 Mob Rules (2:59) Butler/Dio/Iommi
02 Danger Zone (4:44) Iommi
03 War Pigs (8:10) Butler/Iommi/Osbourne/Ward
04 Seventh Star (5:02) Iommi
05 Die Young (3:57) Butler/Iommi/Dio/Ward
06 Black Sabbath (9:33) Butler/Iommi/Osbourne/Ward
07 N.I.B. (1:37) Butler/Iommi/Osbourne/Ward
08 Neon Knights (4:36) Butler/Iommi/Dio/Ward
09 Paranoid (3:28) Butler/Iommi/Osbourne/Ward

(various) original release 1986 by Polygram

USA     : Warner Bros - compact disc / LP - 25337
UK       : Vertigo/Phonogram - LP - VER-H/C 29
Europe : Polygram/Phonogram/Vertigo - compact disc / LP / MC - 826704-2/1/4

Europe : Remastered; Castle/ Essential Records - compact disc - ESM CD335 (April, 1996)
UK       : Universal Music / Sanctuary - 2CD Deluxe Expanded Edition - 2752472 (2010)

Track 5 : also released on Black Sabbath; "Blackest Sabbath 1971-1987" (Best Of);
UK : Polygram/ Vertigo - compact disc / LP / MC - 838818-2/1/4

Band line-up CD 1: 
Tony Iommi (guitars)
Eric Singer (drums)
Glenn Hughes (vocals)
Dave Spitz (bass)
Geoff Nichols (keyboards)

guest musicians CD 1:
Gordon Copley (bass on "No Stranger to Love")

Band line-up CD 2:
Tony Iommi (guitar)
Eric Singer (drums)
Ray Gillen  (vocals) 
Dave Spitz (bass)
Geoff Nicholls (keyboards)

Produced and engineered by Jeff Glixman.
Recorded at Cheshire Sound Studios, Atlanta, GA.

Eric Singer also toured with Black Sabbath for this album.

September 15, 2010 : Black Sabbath CD box reissues
According to BLACK SABBATH News, the next two reissues in the Deluxe Edition series are the highly overlooked Seventh Star (1986) and Eternal Idol (1987) albums that featured Glenn Hughes (ex-DEEP PURPLE) and Tony Martin respectively on vocals.

After just a handful of dates on the 1986 Seventh Star Tour, Hughes was let go, and Ray Gillen was brought on board. He finished the tour, and work began on the next album, and it was mostly completed. Gillen left to found BADLANDS (with now KISS drummer Eric Singer also from Sabbath), and this left Black Sabbath with a mostly completed album, and no singer. Tony Martin was brought in and re-recorded all the vocals in two weeks. The album came out with Tony Martin, and the only remaining bit of the Ray Gillen original vocals was some laughter in the track 'Nightmare'.

The original Ray Gillen version of The Eternal Idol has been traded in bootleg circles for ages now.

Sanctuary/Universal UK will be releasing The Eternal Idol Box Set on November 1st.
The additional tracks include 'Some Kind Of Woman' and 'Black Moon' (demo) on Disc 1. Disc 2 will comprise the Ray Gillen Eternal Idol album! Complete tracklisting is as follows:
Disc 1:
1. The Shining
2. Ancient Warrior
3. Hard Life To Love
4. Glory Ride
5. Born To Lose
6. Nightmare
7. Scarlet Pimpernel
8. Lost Forever
9. Eternal Idol
10. Black Moon (demo)
11. Some Kind Of Woman
Disc: 2
1. Glory Ride
2. Born To Lose
3. Lost Forever
4. Eternal Idol
5. The Shining
6. Hard Life To Love
7. Nightmare
8. Ancient Warrior

Sanctuary/Universal UK will also release the Seventh Star Box Set on November 1st.
The first disc of Seventh Star will include the album as well as the remixed version of 'No Stranger to Love', which appears in the music video of the same.
Disc 2 is a live concert recorded on June 2, 1986 and has Ray Gillen on vocals.
The complete tracklisting is as follows:

Disc 1:
1. In For The Kill
2. No Stranger To Love
3. Turn To Stone
4. Sphinx (The Guardian)
5. Seventh Star
6. Danger Zone
7. Heart Like A Wheel
8. Angry Heart
9. In Memory
10. No Stranger To Love (alternate version)
Disc: 2
1. Mob Rules
2. Danger Zone
3. War Pigs
4. Seventh Star
5. Die Young
6. Black Sabbath
7. N.I.B
8. Neon Knights
9. Paranoid

D  I  S  C  O  G  R  A  P  H  Y


click album cover to buy ! 

BUY > BLACK SABBATH : Seventh Star

Click here to buy
BLACK SABBATH : Seventh Star

BUY > BLACK SABBATH : Seventh Star (2CD deluxe)

Click here to buy
BLACK SABBATH : Seventh Star

(2CD deluxe edition 2010)


Video promo clip

BLACK SABBATH - No Stranger To Love
No Stranger To Love


Audio Samples (mp3 album)


Black Sabbath (official)

Tony Iommi (official)

Eric Singer (official)
Glenn Hughes (official)

D  I  S  C  O  G  R  A  P  H  Y



Back to menu / top of page

New Visitors click here to enter Kiss Related Recordings

Copyright 1997 - 2016 KISS-Related Recordings.
This page is part of the Kiss Related Recordings and Discographies website. Maintained by Jelle Jansen.
Nothing contained on KISS Related Recordings may be reproduced in any form or by any means, 
without the prior consent of the webmaster. Neither electronically, nor in print or otherwise.
contact the webmaster at